In 1835, the Municipal Corporations Act was passed in parliament which required 178 Royal Boroughs to set up professional police services. This was followed in 1839 which allowed areas to set up their local police service at county level. The first to establish this was Wiltshire. Although not yet a legal requirement by 1851, at a local level 29 counties had established their own constabularies. In 1856 it was made law that each borough and county had its own police constabulary. During the years to come and by 1964 the basis of the modern police service in England and Wales is split creating 49 larger Police services by borough and county.

This entry was posted in . Bookmark the permalink.